Hades Takes Game Of The Year In The Gayming Awards 2021

The winners of the Gayming Awards 2021, presented by EA Games and aired on Twitch yesterday, have been revealed. The world’s first LGBT gaming awards ceremony was announced by Gayming Magazine last July.

Nine awards were presented in London with the public voting on the Best LGBTQ Streamer and Gayming Magazine Readers’ Awards categories. Broadcast to over 110,000 viewers on Twitch, the ceremony, which honored LGBTQ inclusion and representation in gaming, was sponsored by The Association for UK Interactive Entertainment and hosted by comedian Suzi Ruffell.

The winners, which included Supergiant Games’ roguelike action RPG Hades, Dontnod Entertainment’s episodic narrative adventure game Tell Me Why, and DREAMFEEL’s visual novel If I Found, were chosen by an international panel of LGBTQ+ video game industry professionals.

Robin Gray, founder, and editor of Gayming Magazine, said, “I am so proud to be able to say we have held the world’s first LGBTQ video game award show! 2020 was truly a watershed moment for LGBTQ inclusion in games and to be able to celebrate it with everyone, although virtually, was amazing! Congratulations to all the winners, well done to all the nominees and thank you again to all our sponsors! See you in 2022!”

Colin Blackwood, EA’s UK & Ireland Country Manager, added, “Congratulations to the amazing nominees and winners celebrated tonight. As a founding partner of the #RaiseTheGame pledge, EA are thrilled to sponsor the inaugural Gayming Awards, celebrating and recognising the power of inclusion of LGBTQ+, and diversity of stories and creators, in video games. We look forward to these awards becoming an annual tradition.”

Those that missed the show can watch it here.

The Gayming Awards 2021 winners were:

Best LGBTQ Narrative Award – sponsored by Hangar 13

If Found…


Authentic Representation Award – sponsored by Green Man Gaming

Tell Me Why

DONTNOD Entertainment/Xbox Game Studios

Best LGBTQ Character Award – sponsored by Rocksteady Studios

Tyler Ronan – Tell Me Why

DONTNOD Entertainment/Xbox Game Studios

LGBTQ Streamer of the Year Award – sponsored by Twitch


Industry Diversity Award – sponsored by Square Enix London Mobile

I Need Diverse Games

Best LGBTQ Indie Game Award – sponsored by Xbox

If Found…


Gayming Magazine Readers’ Award – sponsored by PlayStation


Supergiant Games

Gayming Icon Award – presented by Gayming Magazine

Robert Yang

Game of the Year – sponsored by EA Games


Supergiant Games

NEXT: Voting Is Now Open For BAFTA And EE’s Game Of 2020

  • Game News
  • LGBTQ+
  • Tell Me Why
  • Hades

Mark Lugris is a Contributing Writer at TheGamer. After graduating from the University of Connecticut, he’s worked as a lifestyle and technology writer and editor for the past twenty years in Boston, Madrid and Zurich. Now, he’s chosen the less stressful life of freelance writing at home with his dog, where he can focus on his pop culture passions like film, television, games and sports.

Source: Read Full Article